IACM VSS: How to Stay Smart in a Smart World – A conversation with Gerd Gigerenzer

Published by Brandon Taylor Charpied on

IACM Virtual Seminar Speaker:  A Monthly Series on Conflict and Negotiation Research

How to Stay Smart in a Smart World – A Conversation with Gerd Gigerenzer

 Click Here to Register for the Session


Prof. Dr. Gerd Gigerenzer, Director Emeritus Max Planck Institute for Human Development

Moderator: Michel Mann
Using “Schedule 1”
45 minutes

Monday Oct 10
8am US Pacific
11am US Eastern
5pm Amsterdam
11pm Singapore

Tuesday Oct 11
2am Melbourne


Abstract:

From dating apps and self-driving cars to facial recognition and the justice system, artificial intelligence (AI) has been widely championed – but there are limitations and risks too. Humans are the greatest source of uncertainty in this situations and Gerd Gigerenzer shows how, when people are involved, trust in complex algorithms can lead to illusions of certainty that become a recipe for disaster. We need, now more than ever, to arm ourselves with knowledge about how to make better decisions in a digital age.

In this conversation, we will learn from Gerd Gigerenzer how managers and negotiators can use smart heuristics to improve their decision-making. And we will hear more about his critique of behavioral economics.

Bio:

Gerd Gigerenzer is Director of the Harding Center for Risk Literacy at the University of Potsdam and partner of Simply Rational: The Institute for Decisions. He is former Director of the Centre for Adaptive Behaviour and Cognition at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development and a former Professor of Psychology at the University of Chicago. He is the author of several books on heuristics and decision-making, including Risk Savvy and Reckoning with Risk.

Categories: News